Town of Washington


Washington is a rural town in Litchfield County, Connecticut, in the New England region.  The population was 3,596 at the 2000 census.  Washington is known for its picturesque countryside, historic architecture, and active civic and cultural life. The town has strong ties to New York City, and is home to many cultural and business elites.


Washington was incorporated in 1779, and consists of five villages: Washington Green, Washington Depot, New Preston, Marble Dale, and Woodville.  It is also home to Lake Waramaug, and to many boarding and day schools.


Please visit our official town website at